Mole-Mexican side dish with a Kick

image of plate with mole,carnitas,ric,tortillas

 
Plate of Carnitas w/mole & rice, tortillas

Mole, A Traditional Dish as old as Mexico

 

I’m beginning to wonder if it’s ever going to really get cold. So far this week it’s been in the 70s twice. Don’t get me wrong I do love these Indian Summer days, but you know I would like to have a white Christmas too. Guess that is too much to ask for though.

Today was a bit chillier than most days this week. Not a winter coat wearing day though, I wore my sweat jacket to school. Now it has to be pretty chilly for me to even put one of those on, I am very hot natured. I love seeing the cold weather coming. I don’t care to much for summer except for it being growing season for food and plants here and an occasional swim and cook-out.

The winter is what gets me in the mood to cook. So today I decided to cook something that I don’t cook except in cold weather. It is called Mole. Mole has been around since before Mexico was founded. The Aztecs and Mayans were cooking it hundreds of years ago. It gives any meat or rice a “spicy” taste. And by spicy I mean from spices.

Here are a few pictures of it & the recipe.

If you try it please let me know how it turns out.     tialavoria@yahoo.com

Leslie La Gringa

Provecho!

 

image of Mole in pot

Mole ready to serve.

image of plate with mole,carnitas,ric,tortillas

Plate of Carnitas w/mole & rice, tortillas

Come on Tell Me What You Think!

